Uncategorized

Lavender Love

I have long been a fan of essential oils. I love the scents and the multiple uses. For years I have used oils as a way to enhance my home and my health and one of my favorites has always been lavender.

Lavender oil has been shown to help people relax, which is why you find it in many commercial products that are sold to help you sleep.

I’m not a fan of the commercial products because I choose not to use products that contain a lot of chemicals. I have found that investing in a really good bottle of essential oil, and using it strategically around your home, is much safer and healthier.

Essential oils are great because they’re all natural, have wonderful fragrance, and they last a long time! I drip a few drops in a diffuser ring on my light bulbs to scent my whole house, take a few sniffs in the middle of the day to ward off that “3 o’clock slump,” and use a few drops with some Epsom salts in my bath to relax.

One of my favorite gifts to make are lavender sachets. If bought in a fancy boutique, you can pay upwards of $30 for one of these! YIKES! Instead, I invest in just a few spice bags (you can get a dozen of them for around 8 bucks or so), and a few scraps of pretty lace or ribbon, and I make my own.

You can invest in a few pretty boxes from the dollar store, package your sachets, and boom, you have an elegant, and practical gift.

Here is the recipe:
1 cup whole oats
1 cup lavender buds (you can find these at your local craft store or online)
½ cup coarse Dead Sea salt
½ cup fine Dead Sea salt
10 drops lavender essential oil (which you can conveniently get from me)

Blend the oats in a food processor until powdery. Mix oats with lavender buds and both salts. Once combined, mix in the essential oil.

Scoop mixture into bags and tie tightly.

The sachets can be:

– Tucked into drawers where pajamas are kept to infuse PJ’s with the relaxing scent of lavender
– Tied to the faucet when taking a bath, letting the warm water run over the lavender mixture
– Hung in a closet to freshen the space
– Tucked into the cushion of your favorite chair to help you relax after a long day
– Sewn into the body of a child’s bedtime toy to help relax and soothe them off to sleep

The possibilities are endless! Lavender not your thing? There are hundreds of scents to choose from! And you can find them all here at:

http://www.greenorganicsinternational.com/index.asp?sponsorsite=caringcoachingcenter

Use lemon to wake you up, peppermint to refresh you, tea tree oil as a natural antiseptic.

Want to know more? Email me at karen@thecaringcoachingcenter.com for your FREE guide to essential oils.
Hope you enjoyed this post. Want more great tips? Sign up for my monthly newsletter at http://www.thecaringcoachingcenter.com or check out my brand new book, Your Best Year Yet! 365 Days of Little Changes That Add Up to Big Results! Available now @amazon.com

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well. And until next time – veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Standard

Leave a Reply

