Uncategorized

Shrimpin It!

Can you make a healthy, delicious shrimp dinner in about 30 minutes? Sure you can! Check out my recipe for shrimp with tomatoes, spinach, and rice.

As you know, I follow a mostly vegan diet, but I do eat seafood occasionally and when I have company over, shrimp is my go-to dinner staple of choice.

I make it so often that my sister calls me “Shrimp Girl,” no lie, this is my new nickname!
While shrimp may seem like a fancy food that you break out when you have company, it can be a quick dinner on a weeknight as well. What I love about this recipe is you can serve it when you have company, or, you can throw it together in one pan and cook it up on a random weeknight.
Enjoy!

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 small onion, finely chopped
1 can, 28-ounces diced tomatoes – keep juice
1 cup brown rice
1 pound shrimp
1 bag fresh spinach
Salt and pepper to taste

1. Heat a skillet over medium heat. Add oil. Add onion, cook about 2 minutes. Add tomatoes and juice and simmer, stirring occasionally until thickened, about 5 minutes.

2. Stir in rice and 2 ½ cups of water, then return to a simmer. Reduce heat and cover, cooking about 10 minutes (or until rice is tender). Stir in shrimp and spinach and cover cooking until shrimp is pink and cooked through (about 5 minutes). Season with salt and pepper and enjoy!

Want more recipes like this? Sure you do! Visit my website, http://www.thecaringcoachingcenter.com and sign up for my monthly newsletter where I share recipes and other tips, tricks, and techniques in the kitchen.

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well. And until next time – veg in, don’t veg out!
Karen

Karen is the President & CEO of The Caring Coaching Center, LLC. As a Certified Health Coach, Karen’s mission is to be your partner in helping you reach your health, fitness, and lifestyle goals. Haven’t yet gotten your FREE health consultation? There is no obligation so sign up today. Just email karen@thecaringcoachingcenter.com to get started!

Standard

Leave a Reply

