Uncategorized

Eating, Drinking, Peeing, Pooping

Yeah, I know, who would create a blog post with THAT title? This girl! And I’ll tell you why…

I’ve found that most of what gets me and keeps me healthy (or unhealthy) boils down to these four things; what I eat, what I drink, how my pee looks, and how my poop looks.

Let’s break it down.

Eating. First off, what you eat is so important. It’s been said that good health is 80% diet and 20% exercise, and I couldn’t agree more.

“You cannot out-exercise a bad diet!”

One of the mistakes I see my clients make is that they work out really hard for a few hours and then totally undue their hard work by binge eating. Or, worse yet, they exercise for just a short period of time, at a low-intensity pace, and then scarf down an entire pizza!

While no one diet is right for everyone, and I always practice bio-individuality with my health coaching clients, there are a few rules that are usually good for everyone:

1. Eat real food. Stop eating processed crap! If you don’t know what an ingredient is, your body won’t either.

2. Load up on veggies. No one eats enough!

3. Keep treats as treats. An occasional treat is fine, but when you are eating Oreos for dinner, that’s no longer a treat!

Drinking. Please step away from the soda, the sugar-laden “fruit” juices, and the alcohol. None of that stuff is good for you. Again, I enjoy a glass of wine occasionally but I’m certainly not knocking off an entire bottle in one sitting! When it comes to drinks, keep it simple:

1. Water is always your friend. Drink up! If you feel thirsty, it’s too late, you’re already dehydrated. Make sure you drink enough water that you aren’t feeling parched. If your lips are stuck together, that’s a bad sign!

2. If you need a little flavor, add some sliced lemon, lime, grapefruit, or orange to your water. Or add some fresh mint.

3. If you still need flavor, and water isn’t doing it for you, brew some tea and add your citrus or fresh mint, or have a cup of coffee (but watch the added sugar and cream).

Peeing. Another way to tell if your body has been properly hydrated is to look at your pee. Yes, I said look. Your pee should be mostly clear. If your pee is a dark yellow, you may be dehydrated. If that’s the case, make sure you up that water intake. Keep in mind that certain vitamins or medications can turn your pee into a darker color, but for the most part, it should be on the clear side.

1. If you up your water intake, you may find you have to pee more often. I promise you, this feeling of having to permanently move into the bathroom will go away once your body gets used to the new intake of fluid. Keep drinking!

2. If you have pain or burning when you pee, you may have a urinary tract infection, or something else might be causing you distress. If it goes on for more than a day or two, call the doctor.

Pooping. Just like paying attention to your pee is a clue to your health, paying attention to your poop can help you figure out what’s happening with your body. I consider myself a poop detective. And yes, I do look at my poop (hope you aren’t having breakfast!) What’s “normal” for me may not be “normal” for you but if you do look at your poop on a regular basis you may start to notice how it usually looks.

1. Contrary to public opinion, your poop shouldn’t actually stink up the joint. If you have particularly stinky poo, something might be going on there.

2. How many times a day should you poop? I don’t know! What did you eat? I go at least three times a day and have been told that is normal for me. If you’re concerned that you are going too much, or not enough, keep a poo log for a week and write down each time you go. If you feel “stopped up” that may be a sign that you aren’t going often enough.

3. Poo that is really watery or “stringy,” stinks to the high Heavens, or is a funky color (like a dark black coal color) is not healthy poo and you should probably pay a visit to the doc! Poo that has blood in it is definitely not good and warrants an immediate call to your physician.

There you have it, my guide to eating, drinking, peeing, and pooping!

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well. And until next time – veg in, don’t veg out!

Want to find out how you can get your FREE, personalized health consultation! Just visit my website, http://www.thecaringcoachingcenter.com, or email me at karen@thecaringcoachingcenter.com to request your free consultation.

Standard

One thought on “Eating, Drinking, Peeing, Pooping

  1. You share interesting things here. I think that your blog
    can go viral easily, but you must give it initial boost and i know how to do it, just search in google for
    – mundillo traffic increase go viral

Leave a Reply

