Uncategorized

Cinnamon Rules!

cinnamon-tau

I always tell my clients, friends, family…pretty much anyone who will listen to me, about the wonderful benefits of cinnamon.

Besides its warming, welcoming flavor, cinnamon has antibacterial and antioxidant properties. The reason I recommend it though, is because of its anti-inflammatory properties. I use cinnamon everywhere I can as a way to combat my severe arthritis, and have recommended it to several clients who have reported feeling better when using cinnamon regularly.

I am a big fan of drinking hot water with lemon in the morning (another healthy habit I recommend to my clients) and when I want a little extra boost, I’ll swirl a cinnamon stick around in there.

You can also stir a stick of cinnamon in a cup of hot water and fresh ginger for an interesting anti-inflammatory tea.

While most people think of cinnamon in terms of sweet dishes like cookies, oatmeal, and sweet breads, cinnamon can be an interesting twist on savory dishes as well. Try adding a teaspoon of cinnamon to your chili, stew, or curry dishes, or add some to your dry rub for meat. Cinnamon is especially lovely with pork (I hear…you guys know I don’t eat meat)!

You can also make my World’s Easiest Cookie recipe with lots of cinnamon for an added punch. Visit my website, http://www.thecaringcoachingcenter.com and click on the recipe tab to snag it.

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well. And until next time – veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Cinnamon Rules!

    • How wonderful of you Evaenlien! Who doesn’t accept awards? I am looking through the criteria now, but wanted to be sure to thank you for thinking of me in this very wonderful way! All the best to you and livingonanawesomeshoestring! I appreciate a fellow blogger who is working towards making the blogosphere a little nicer for everyone!

Leave a Reply

