Uncategorized

For My Dad

I ran a 5-k today to raise money for prostate cancer; I’ve been doing this run for three years in honor of my dad. My dad passed away from prostate cancer, so it seems like a fitting thing to do on father’s day.

My dad was not your typical dad. I suppose most anyone could say that about their father, but I know that my dad truly was one-of-a-kind. If I’m being honest, I don’t think that I appreciated him as much as I should have when he was here; but I miss him now.

My childhood was far from perfect, but I know my dad did the best he could with what he knew and what he had to offer; I know he tried hard!

There are times when I wonder if he’d be proud of me now for all the things that I’ve been doing. I wonder what he would say about decisions and choices I’ve made and things that I’ve done.

In the past year, I’ve done a lot of work on myself. I’ve been trying to deal with with my issues and work to become a better me. I haven’t always gotten things right, in fact, I’ve screwed up a lot things, but I’m a lot further along than I was. I think my dad would be proud of me. 

For all you dad’s, dads-to-be, step-dads, granddads, father-in-laws, pet daddies, uncles, brothers, and father-figures, thank you for all you do.

For all those missing their dads today, I feel you. Be extra nice to yourself today. Here’s hoping you enjoy fond memories and thoughts of your dad.

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well. And until next time – veg in, don’t veg out.

Karen

Standard

2 thoughts on “For My Dad

Leave a Reply

