Uncategorized

What’s Eating You?

Image

As a Certified Health Coach, people ask me all the time what they should and shouldn’t eat. They ask me for recipes, meal plans, and recommendations; agave vs. coconut sugar, anyone?

One of the common threads I’ve seen among my clients is that many times it’s not what they are eating – it’s what’s eating them. They ask me what to eat and I ask them how their relationships are, do they like their job, how do they feel about their home life. A lot of times they look at me like I’m crazy, until they realize that their issues aren’t on their plate, it’s in their lives.

I figured this out for myself in a really big way when I got divorced. I had always had an issue with binge eating, but once I got divorced and I was alone, it really surfaced. This was partly due to the fact that there was no one here to watch what I was eating, but it was mostly due to the fact that I was trying to fill a void.

It took me a really long time to realize that that second piece of cheesecake (or the sixth piece for that matter) wasn’t going to help me fill the void. I was alone and lonely and food became my company.

I’m happy to report that I’ve figured out a way to stop filling my life with food, and I’ve been able to help many other people break out of that pattern as well.

One of the keys is to slow down and think about what you are eating and why. You can also measure your hunger on a scale of 1 – 10, and only eat if your hunger is over a 5 or 6.

There are plenty of tricks like these to help you keep your eating under check, but if you really want to get the heart of your emotional eating, I urge you to do some real soul searching to get to the root of the issue; I can help!

If you haven’t gotten your free health consultation yet, please take me up on my offer. I’d love to be your partner in helping you reach your health, lifestyle, and fitness goals. Want more information about emotional eating? Email me today at karen@thecaringcoachingcenter.com, and I’ll send some information to you!

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well, and until next time – veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen 

 

Standard

2 thoughts on “What’s Eating You?

Leave a Reply

