Uncategorized

Leave the Introvert Alone!

Image

Hello, my name is Karen, and I am an introvert. It took me a long time to acknowledge and then admit that, and then when I finally did, people made fun of me. I got tired of hearing people say, “but you’re so friendly,” “but you’re so nice,” “but you’re so good at public speaking.” None of that has anything to do with being an introvert. 

I have all the classic signs; I love to talk to people I know, but am nervous around strangers; I enjoy activities that I can do by myself; I have trouble working in teams; I like to be creative; I’m highly sensitive; I like others but find myself getting very crabby when I don’t have enough time to myself; and I am petrified…absolutely petrified…of being embarrassed in public!

It’s hard enough to deal with all of these emotions without the added pressure of then having to explain (or worse yet defend) them to others.

For a long time I beat myself up for being “different,” for not being “normal;” but once I was able to put a name to what I was feeling, I felt better. At least I knew that I wasn’t crazy, I just operated from a different place than others do. By the way, if you operate from a different place too, THAT’S OKAY! The world does not need more fake people, more cookie cutter shells; the world needs more people who are brave enough to be who and what they are.

Whether you are an introvert, an extrovert, a jock, a nerd, a people pleaser, or whatever you are, just honor that and be that. Unless you’re an axe murderer…don’t be that!

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well! And until next time, veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Like the blog? Check out more on http://www.huffingtonpost.com/karen-ann-kennedy.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

