Uncategorized

FOMO

Image

Have y’all heard of this yet? FOMO – Fear of Missing Out! I asked myself, “fear of missing out on WHAT?” Last night was Saturday night, and do you know how I knew this? Because I was home cleaning my apartment and clipping coupons. Don’t judge; I clip coupons to send to our military troops!

I took a break (I was getting a cramp in my hand from holding the scissors) and I logged onto Facebook…big mistake! All my friends were posting about how much fun they were having, who they were hanging out with, tallying up their drink totals, and “checking in” at various bars, clubs, and other entertainment establishments. I looked over at the cat, he looked back at me, and we both sighed.

Here’s the thing though…I am over 21, an adult with a job and a car and the means to go out on Saturday night (if I really wanted to). The truth is I CHOSE to stay in last night. No wallowing for me.

When we learn to say no to things we are inevitably saying yes to something else. If I say no to going to a party, I’m saying yes to staying in and catching up on my work (and there’s plenty of it)! Am I missing out on something by saying no? Sure I am! But again, I’m saying yes to something else, and I choose to focus on that. 

Also, remember kids, that your friend who posts all her Saturday night antics about the posh places she’s visiting, the designer clothes, and fancy getaways will never post about the creditors calling her for back payment or the day her car got repossessed. What you see on Facebook is what other people WANT you to see, and it’s only a snapshot.

Before you send me hate mail, let me just clarify, I am not suggesting that you become a hermit and never go out and see your friends, I’m telling you that it’s okay to unplug, unwind, and step away from the outside world sometimes. And the best time to exercise this right is when it’s something that you really don’t want to do. If you don’t go to Sally’s best friend’s husband’s brother’s neighbor’s housewarming party, will you miss out on something? Maybe. But if it’s something you don’t want to do, don’t do it! You may miss out on some things, but if you replace that time with something more worthwhile, you’ll gain a whole lot more. 

Take care of yourself, be nice to yourself, and be well.

And until next time, veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Like the blog? You can also follow me on Twitter @caringcoaching, or check me out on The Huffington Post. Just go to http://www.huffingtonpost.com/karen-ann-kennedy

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

