Uncategorized

When the Health Coach Gets Sick

Image

An amazing thing happens when you become a Health Coach. Suddenly, everyone around you starts monitoring what you eat. God forbid you miss a workout, everyone gets on you for it. And don’t even try to sneak to the vending machine, or eat a donut at a staff meeting!

So, today, I got sick! Here’s a news flash, I’m a human being! Do you think doctors never get sick? Dentists never get a toothache? It happens! And it happened to me in a big way today!

I knew it was coming last night. I had a scratchy throat, and I kept repeating the mantra, “I am not getting sick, I am not getting sick,” but then I sneezed; TWICE, and I knew that was the beginning of the end. When I woke up this morning, I WAS SICK! Horribly sick! I went to work; big mistake! I made it for part of the morning and then promptly came home, parked myself on the coach, and started pumping myself full of liquids.

My co-workers were appalled! How I possibly be sick! I’m a Health Coach. I tell everyone else how to stay healthy! They looked at me as if I were an alien!

As a Health Coach, I am always so concerned about my clients. Are they getting what they need? Eating healthy? Taking care of themselves? Getting enough rest? It’s that last one that was my downfall. I am very good at telling other people to make sure they rest, but I’m terrible at doing it for myself. As I sat at my desk with the world’s worst headache, seriously, my eyeballs hurt, I emailed my brilliant marketing consultant to cancel a meeting for tonight, cleared off the calendar for Saturday, and came to the sad realization that my never-ending to-do list was going to get a little longer.

So what happens when the Health Coach gets sick? The same thing that happens when everybody else gets sick; you get forced to slow down and take care of yourself.

I hope all of you are staying well! Please remember to take care of yourself! And until next time, veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Haven’t signed up yet for my monthly newsletter? Please do! Visit my website at http://www.thecaringcoachingcenter.com and click on the newsletter link. You’ll get great health and wellness tips, recipes, and fun articles! Like the blog? Check me out LIVE every Friday night on http://www.dtmwickradio.com. YES,  even tonight I’ll be on there sharing health and wellness tips! 9 pm EST, don’t miss it!

Standard

Leave a Reply

