Uncategorized

The Audacity to Whine

Image

Last week, for no real reason at all, I started to get really down on myself. I was so focused on what I didn’t have, what was going wrong, and all the things I wasn’t doing. Self-doubt didn’t just creep in, it came raining down on me like a punch to the throat. I texted a friend, my accountability partner, and whined for a while. He reminded me, in his not-so-gentle way, that there are people who are happy with a lot less than I have. It helped, but it didn’t stop me from wallowing.

Friday night came. It was a long week at work, the weather had been cold and snowy,and my to-do list was longer than my free time. I was meeting a colleague at Starbucks for a marketing meeting. I kept one eye on my watch, knowing that I had to run home in time for my weekly radio show. At the end of the meeting, I walked my colleague to the train. The streets were icy and slippery. I shuffled my way back towards work to get my car and go home. As I shuffled, slipped, and slid my way along, I bitched under my breath about the cold and the snow. I moaned about all the things I had to do; the bills I had to pay. In general, I whined about my life, and then, I stopped.

Laying on a steam grate was a homeless man covered in dirty blankets and a thick piece of plastic. It was maybe all of six degrees by this time of night and the wind was howling. In that moment I cursed myself and thought, “Who the hell are you to whine about anything in your life?” I was so ashamed of myself for being so selfish and ungrateful, and for being so unappreciative of the blessings in my life.

I was half a block from work, but instead of going back for my car, I turned the corner and shuffled the additional two blocks back to Starbucks. I bought a large hot chocolate and a bagel and shuffled my way back to the man. I gave him a nudge and when he unwrapped himself from his coverings, I handed him the items. “Take care of yourself,” I said.

If I could have cried, I would have, but it was so cold that I don’t think it was physically possible. In that moment I was so absolutely grateful for all the things in my life and I couldn’t wait to get home to my cozy, warm apartment, and to my loving three-legged rescue cat. I couldn’t wait to call into the radio show and use my knowledge and enthusiasm to inspire others. I was grateful for my family, my friends, my job, my home, the clothes on my back, my health, my abilities, my opportunities.

I was grateful for every ache and pain, because feeling them meant that I was alive! I was grateful for every interruption at work, because it meant that I had a job! I was grateful for every dollar I spent on my bills, because it meant that I had a home and a car and utilities to pay for!

What are you grateful for? Right here, right now, in this very moment…what are you grateful for?

I am not much for writing in a journal, but every night before I go to bed, I write down at least one thing that I am grateful for. And trust me, there is ALWAYS something to be grateful for. It’s an exercise that forces me to be mindful of what I have, and more importantly, THANKFUL for what I have.

Be thankful for what you have in your life. Focus your energy on enjoying what you currently have instead of obsessing about what you still want. Don’t take anything for granted; and be reminded, as I was this week, that someone out there is happy with much less than what you have.

Until next time, veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Like the blog? You can hear the blog LIVE every Friday night at 9 pm EST on http://www.dtmwickedradio.com. Join me, and my co-host Tiffany Beth, as we share health, fitness, and lifestyle tips to help you feel your best! Can’t tune in Fridays? No problem! Download past episodes on iTunes, iHeartRadio, and Spreaker! Check us out!

 

Standard

4 thoughts on “The Audacity to Whine

  1. Debra Gross says:

    I love this. I cried. Even sitting here not knowing what’s wrong with me I recognize how much I have. One of your most heartfelt blogs. Proud of you. Love Deb

    Sent from my iPhone Spelling errors don’t count.

    >

Leave a Reply

