Uncategorized

You Are Going to Die

Too harsh? Here’s the reality of it, we are all going to die. Time is the great equalizer. It doesn’t matter if you are rich or poor, famous or infamous, if you’re a stay at home mom, a corporate executive, a kid in high school, we all get the same 24 hours in a day…it’s how we choose to spend our time that’s important.

“If only I had more time…” to do what? We have the same amount of time as Einstein, Beethoven, DaVinci, Oprah, and the Pope! So, what are you doing with your 24 hours a day?

Though we all get the same number of hours in a day, we don’t all get the same number of days. That’s why it’s so important to make the days count. Now, I’m a realist, I get the old adage that “no one dies wishing they had spent more time in the office”, blah, blah, blah crap, but I also know that I need to earn a living, and sometimes, my job requires a lot of extra time that could be spent doing something else. I get that not everyone has the luxury of quitting their job and running off to live in the mountains and write the next great American novel. I get that, I truly do. But what I am suggesting  is that while you’re doing the things that you need to do, that you also pay attention to your life.

Think about the amount of time you spend each day doing things. Eating, sleeping, working, playing. I bet there’s a lot less of that last one for most of us! When you think about your life, think of the moments that have really inspired you or captured you in some way. Now, try to recreate those moments as often as you can.

Maybe you can’t afford to take an extravagant vacation to Hawaii, but can you afford to go to the park and spend some time looking up at the trees? Maybe you can’t afford to throw yourself a 30th birthday bash every year, but can you have a few of your closest friends over to celebrate when you came into the world? Here’s a news flash…the lives and memories we create have a lot less to do with the where, how, and how much, and a lot more to do with the who, why, and how we feel.

I remember many years ago when I was in high school many years ago…I’m old…it was Christmas Eve. My high school sweetheart and I were broke. Too broke to buy presents for each other, too broke to go out to eat. He had $6 in his pocket and he used it to put some gas in his car. He drove me to a house in the next neighborhood that went all out on the decorations. The house was so lit up that I thought you could see it from space. We stood there in the cold for half an hour just staring at the lights, holding hands, and talking about what we hoped the next year would bring.

I still remember that day like it was yesterday, and the moment didn’t cost a dime! Sometimes I think, “why don’t you make more of those moments for yourself, time is ticking away!”

You are going to die. But before you do, you’re going to be given a life…LIVE IT! Do things for others, do things for yourself, be grateful for what you have, work for what you don’t have but need, stop taking everything so seriously, put down the electronics and talk to your kids, stop trying to “keep up with the Joneses..no one knows who the damn Joneses are anyway!”

And above all, be good to yourself, and until next time, veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen 

Interested in how you can live your best life? Visit our website, http://www.thecaringcoachingcenter.com to find out how you can book your free, no-obligation, 50-minute health history consultation today!

Standard

Leave a Reply

