Uncategorized

Get Rid of Your But!

What’s holding you back from getting what you really want and deserve? What is stopping you from going after the things that are important to you in your life? What if I told you that it’s likely one tiny little three-letter word…BUT!

How many times have you caught yourself saying, “I would go back and finish my degree, but… I wish I could get out and enjoy time with my friends more, but… I wish I could be more organized, more focused, happier, more grounded, etc., but”

GET RID OF YOUR BUT! Think about what would happen if just for one day, you didn’t use the word but at all! Someone compliments you on how well you completed a project and all you can say is, “Thanks, I thought it was good, but I wish I would have had a few extra days to polish it…” How bad would it be to just stop at thanks? Or better yet, stop at, “Thanks, I thought it was good!”

Now don’t get me wrong, we all have real tangible things that hold us back. I’d like to be a Victoria’s Secret Supermodel but… (if you’ve ever met me, you know what that but is!) I’d like to be in my 20’s again, but I haven’t yet invented a time machine. There are some things that are just not in the cards. BUT… there are plenty of other things I can be and do, the things that often limit me (and I’m guessing limit a lot of other people as well) are limitations that are self-imposed.

Here’s an assignment for you. Get a piece of paper and write down all the things you want to have, be, experience. And don’t write the word but. Just make a list. I want to be more organized, I want more time with my friends, I want to have a beach house, I want to write a book. Your list can be as long or as short as you want it to be.

Then, on a separate piece of paper, write down all the things that are stopping you from getting what you want. I want to be more organized – I would need more time and more space. I want more time with my friends – I would need to prioritize my work and spend less hours in the office. I want to have a beach house – I would need to save more money.

Notice that nowhere in there did I use the word BUT. Instead, I used action words. I would need to…

Because if these are things you really want, you can get them, if you find a way. Don’t let one measly little three-letter word stop you! Instead, replace it with another, more positive, more powerful three-letter word… CAN!

Until next time, veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Get Rid of Your But!

  1. Mark says:

    How true it is often ourselves that hold us back. We can accomplish what we set our minds to and usually it’s that simple. Thanks for the advice.

    If you haven’t tweeted this out yet you should.

Leave a Reply

