Uncategorized

Stuffed Peppers

I had a rare day off today. Not sure about you, but when I have off on a Monday, it just feels really good. Yesterday, I “went off the reservation” with my eating and I felt it today for sure. I decided to re-commit myself to eating the healthy, nourishing food I know my body needs. So, I did what any smart girl would do…I went to the kitchen and got cooking. And today, I whipped up some black bean stuffed peppers. Since I don’t eat meat, but still need protein, I rely on a product called TVP – Textured Vegetable Protein. I know, it sounds weird, but it’s really very good. It doesn’t have much of a flavor (it takes on the flavor of whatever you cook it in) and the consistency is a bit like ground meat (but finer). In this recipe, you won’t notice it much at all, but it will be filling to your tummy and give your stuffed peppers the right consistency. TVP is a soy product that is incredibly rich in protein and contains no fat. It is also a good source of dietary fiber, iron, magnesium, and phosphorus. Try Bob’s Red Mill brand, I’ve had the most success with this particular brand in recipes.

Black Bean Stuffed Peppers

2 TBSP of olive oil

1 medium onion chopped small

3 cloves of garlic minced

2 cups of finely chopped mushrooms

1 TBSP of chili powder

1 tsp of salt

1 15-ounce can of tomato sauce

1/4 cup of water

1/2 cup of TVP

4 large red bell peppers (remember, you are stuffing them, so get nice big fat ones!)

1 15-ounce can of black beans, drained and rinsed

1 tsp of maple syrup

Saute the onions in the olive oil for 3 – 5 minutes, until the onions are translucent. Add the garlic and mushrooms and saute about about 5 minutes. Stir in the chili powder and the salt. add the TVP and 1 cup of the tomato sauce (reserve the rest) and the water, lower the heat and cover. Simmer for about 20 minutes.

While your mix is simmering, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Cut the tops off your peppers and remove the seeds. Boil the peppers for 5 minutes and drain them.

Combine the beans and maple syrup with the cooked TVP mix. Stuff each pepper with filling and stand them upright in a baking dish. Pour the remaining tomato sauce over the peppers and bake for 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

And until next time….veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Standard

Leave a Reply

