Uncategorized

Long Live the Twinkie

No, seriously, long live the Twinkie, it’s probably going to be around long after you and I are gone!

People are always asking me for quick tips or “rules of thumb” for eating healthy, so I’m happy to share with you one of my favorites.

If a food can go bad, then it’s good for you. Think about that for a minute. If a food can go bad, then it’s good for you.

Tape that to your refrigerator, put it on a post-it-note to keep in your wallet, write it at the top of your shopping list each week!

If a food has a long shelf life then it’s likely to shorten yours! Why? Because it’s NOT FOOD! It’s chemicals.

Here’s one of the biggest issues I see, people have stopped eating real food and are eating chemicals instead. People are more particular nowadays about the type of gas they put in their cars then they are about what they put in their bodies. Does anybody else see anything wrong with that?

There was so much going on in the news this week; shootings and killings in cities across America, protests continuing on gay marriage, uprising in Egypt. The verdict came in on the Trayvon Martin case and people are still reeling over it. Glee star Cory Monteith died at the very, very, too-young age of 31.

But what’s been all over the news? The return of the Twinkie! The media is hyping this up like crazy! People are rushing out to stand in line at Wal-Mart like it’s the release of the new XBox. We’re one step away from women fainting in the aisles as if Oprah were giving them away. Could you imagine? “You get a Twinkie,  and you get a Twinkie, and YOU get a Twinkie!”

So here’s a challenge for you. It’s an easy one, I promise. Before you eat ANYTHING this week, pause for a moment and ask yourself these 4 questions:

1. What exactly am I eating?

2. Where did it come from?

3. Why am I eating it?

4. How will this make me feel?

1. You need to know what you’re putting in your body. And please don’t say, “I do know, it’s a Twinkie!” I get that, but what exactly IS that Twinkie made of? What’s in it? If it has a list of ingredients that you can’t pronounce you should probably back away from it!

2. Where did it come from? Did a farmer  harvest this from a lovely field or did some dude in a chemical suit push it through a conveyor belt?

3. Why am I eating it? Are you eating for entertainment? Are you bored? Are you fueling up for a Yoga class or a long run? Am I craving salt, sugar, fat?

4. How am I going to feel after I eat this? Will I feel satiated? Will I feel guilty? Is my stomach going to rumble all night? Is it going to give me gas?

Once you start to understand what and why you eat, you’ll start to see the benefits of eating real, whole foods that make your body feel fantastic. As one of my wise friends once said , “People don’t know what it feels like to feel good.” And it’s so true, because once you know what it feels like to feel good, trust me, you’ll never want to go back to eating crap!

So, long live the Twinkie, but for those who choose to eat them, short live you!

Veg in, don’t veg out!

Karen

Standard

Leave a Reply

